Upcoming MatchCork City – Shamrock Rovers/28/07/2019/Turner's Cross
Upcoming MatchCork City – Shamrock Rovers/28/07/2019/Turner's Cross

City 0-2 Progrés

From SSEAirtricityLeague.ie

Cork City’s hopes of progressing to the second qualifying round of the Europa League are all but over as they were beaten 2-0 by Progrés Niederkorn at Turner’s Cross on Thursday evening.

City fell behind after 11 minutes as Colm Horgan was caught in possession on his own end line allowing Belmin Muratovic to steal possession and drill the ball past a helpless Mark McNulty at his near post to give the visitors the lead.

Horgan’s misery was compounded in the 21st minute when he brought down the lively Mayron De Almeida inside the area and the attacker emphatically fired the ball into the top left corner of the net to make it 2-0.

Cork were handed a lifeline midway through the first period when Latvian referee Aleksandrs Anufrijevs again pointed to the spot following a foul on Conor McCarthy inside the area. But Karl Sheppard failed to place the ball home from 12 yards as his strike down the middle was turned over the crossbar by the outstretched leg of goalkeeper Sebastian Flauss.

City tried to force their way back into the tie but they never truly threatened their opponent’s goal with Gearoid Morrissey firing straight at the keeper before the break and Ronan Hurley slicing a volley wide for their best chance in the second half.

Progrés threatened to add a third on the counter-attack as the game drew to a close but in the end they gladly settled for the significant lead they had already earned going into the second leg next Thursday night.

Referee: Aleksandrs Anufrijevs (Latvia).

Attendance: 3,157.

Sign up to our newsletter!

Recent News

WNL Preview: CCFC v Kilkenny
City v St. Pat’s to be televised
Shamrock Rovers game rescheduled for July 28th
CCFC support #CorkPride week with special adidas shirt
Progrès 1-2 CCFC

Next Match

SSE Airtricity League
Turner's Cross

Premier Division Table


Top Scorers (All Comps) 2019

1Conor McCarthy2926094
2Gearoid Morrissey2217633
3Karl Sheppard2218483
4Sean McLoughlin2723042
5Kevin O’Connor1913942

News Archive