WNL: Peamount 8-1 CCFC

Cork City fell to an 8-1 defeat against 2019 Só Hotel’s Women’s National League champions in Greenogue on Saturday.

Peamount started much the stronger of the two sides as they pressed the City defence early on and eventually found their way through in the 16th minute as Eleanor Ryan Doyle applied the finish to a Peamount corner to give them a 1-0 win. Peamount quickly pressed their advantage and soon added a second and third in the 21st heading home from a Megan Smyth Lynch cross and 24th minute Eleanor Ryan Doyle securing an early hat-trick.

Peamount continued to press their advantage and scored a fourth in the 31st minute with Aine O’Gorman applying the finish to a Smyth Lynch cross from the left wing. Megan Smyth Lynch made it five before half time scoring directly from a corner to make it 5-0 at half time.

Peamount continued in the second half where they left off in the first scoring their 6th in the 52nd minute with Eleanor Ryan Doyle getting her fourth with a shot from the edge of the box. City got one back in the 61st minute after Liz O’Conner was fouled in the penalty area, she stepped up to take the resulting penalty making it 6-1.

Peamount continued to press for more goals scoring again in the 77th minute with Smyth Lynch getting her second with a curling left footed shot from outside the box. Aine O’Gorman wrapped up the game and the 2019 Só Hotel’s Women’s National League title for Peamount in injury time scoring from the edge of the box and it finished 8-1 to Peamount.

Cork City: Maria O’Sullivan (Abby. McCarthy, 72); Danielle Burke, Ciara McNamara, Sarah Jones, Eadaoin Lyons; Katie. McCarthy; Sophie Liston, Zara Foley, Kate O’Donovan, Riona Crowley (Nadine Seward, 56); Liz O’Connor (Megan Howard, 82).

Recent News

Happy 80th Birthday to Jerry Harris!
Sligo 2-1 CCFC
Team news: Sligo Rovers vs Cork City
Name & Number Printing + Sale on 2020 Home Shirts!
City Edition: Sponsoring Cork City FC Women!

Premier Division Table


Sign up to our newsletter!

    Top Scorers (All Comps) 2020

    1irlGearoid Morrissey1311042
    2irlDylan McGlade1811642
    3engDeshane Dalling1411482
    4irlRicardo Dinanga104182
    5irlCian Bargary94402

    News Archive

    Last day to enter!

    A chance to become or main women's team sponsor for only €350!